

Your Council

Christchurch City Three Year Plan Christchurch Ōtautahi

Elected Members

How the Council works

Elected members

Christchurch residents and ratepayers are represented by the 14-member Christchurch City Council and eight Community Boards. Elections are held every three years to select Councillors and Community Board Members.

Council

The Mayor and 13 Councillors run the city and ensure that the needs of its residents are met. They plan the way forward and are accountable for delivering what the community has identified as necessary for its cultural, economic, environmental and social well-being.

Community Boards

At a local level, the eight Community Boards represent and act as advocates for the interests of their communities. Community Board Members advise the Council on local needs, community views, and how Council proposals will affect their communities. The community boards are:

- Burwood/Pegasus
- Fendalton/Waimairi
- Hagley/Ferrymead
- Riccarton/Wigram
- Shirley/Papanui
- Spreydon/Heathcote
- Akaroa/Wairewa
- Lyttelton/Mt Herbert

The Council organisation

The Council is responsible for employing the Chief Executive – the only member of staff who reports directly to elected members. The Chief Executive employs all other staff at the Council.

Council structure

Council activities and services are assigned to one of eight business groups, each headed by a General Manager. These groups are:

- Capital Programme
- City Environment
- · Community Services
- · Corporate Services
- Human Resources
- · Public Affairs
- · Regulation and Democracy Services
- Strategy and Planning

Within these groups, various units provide specific services to the community and to the Council itself. The services and activities provided by the Council are wide and varied, from rubbish collection, roads and water, to the Botanic Gardens, the Christchurch Art Gallery, city libraries, and festivals and events.

Back Row (from left):

Councillor Sally Buck M.Ed (Dist), Dip.Tchg., Dip. TESOL,

Councillor Barry Corbett,

Councillor Jamie Gough M.Inst.D,

Councillor Jimmy Chen M Com., B.Sc,

Councillor Aaron Keown,

Councillor Helen Broughton MA (Hons), Dip.Ed.

(counselling) Dip.Tchg.,

Councillor Yani Johanson.

Front Row (from left):

Deputy Mayor Ngaire Button,

Mayor Bob Parker.

Councillor Tim Carter M.E.M., BE (Hons).

Councillor Glenn Livingstone B.A., B.Th,

Councillor Peter Beck MA[Oxon] C.Theo[Soton] AFNZIM,

Councillor Sue Wells B.A.

Inset:

Councillor Claudia Reid



Community Board Members

Fendalton/Waimari Community Board

Left to right: Councillor Jamie Gough, Councillor Sally Buck, Val Carter (Chair), David Halstead, Faimeh Burke, Cheryl Colley and David Cartwright

Council Service Centre - Fendalton Cnr Jeffreys & Clyde Roads. PO Box 73020 Hours: Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm













Shirley/Papanui Community Board

Left to right: Deputy Mayor Ngaire Button, Councillor Aaron Keown, Chris Mene (Chair), Anna Button, Kathy Condon and Pauline Cotter

Council Service Centre - Papanui

Cnr Langdons Rd & Restell St. PO Box 73024

Hours: Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm & Saturday 10am - 1pm











Burwood/Pegasus Community Board

Left to right: Councillor Glenn Livingstone, Councillor Peter Beck, Linda Stewart (Chair), Tim Sintes, Tim Baker, David East and Julie Gorman

Council Service Centre - Shirley

36 Marshlands Road (The Palms). PO Box 73023

Hours: Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm & Saturday 10am - 1pm















Riccarton/Wigram Community Board

Left to right: Councillor Helen Broughton, Councillor Jimmy Chen, Mike Mora (Chair), Natalie Bryden, Sam Johnson, Peter Laloli and Judy Kirk

Council Service Centre - Riccarton 199 Clarence Street. PO Box 73022 Hours: Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm















Spreydon/Heathcote Community Board

Left to right: Councillor Barry Corbett, Councillor Sue Wells, Phil Clearwater (Chair), Paul McMahon, Helene Mautner, Karolin Potter and Tim Scandrett

Council Service Centre - Beckenham 66 Colombo Street. PO Box 73025 Hours: Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm













Hagley/Ferrymead Community Board

Left to right: Councillor Tim Carter, Councillor Yani Johanson, Islay McLeod (Chair) David Cox, Nathan Ryan, Bob Todd and Brenda Lowe-Johnson

Council Service Centre

53 Hereford Street, Christchurch. PO Box 73010

Hours: Monday to Friday 8.30am - 5pm

Council Service Centre - Linwood

Eastgate Mall, 1st Floor, Cnr Buckley's Rd and Linwood Ave. PO Box 73025

Hours: Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm













Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board

Left to right: Councillor Claudia Reid, Paula Smith (Chair), Jeremy Agar, Ann Jolliffe, Andrew Turner, and Adrian Te Patu

Council Service Centre - Lyttelton Bundy Building, 15 London St, Lyttelton PO Box 73027 Hours: Monday to Friday 8.30am - 5pm













Akaroa/Wairewa Community Board

Left to right: Councillor Claudia Reid, Pam Richardson (Chair), Leigh Hickey, Stewart Miller, Bryan Morgan and Lyndon Graham

Council Service Centre - Akaroa 28 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520 Hours: Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm Council Service Centre - Little River 4236 Christchurch, Akaroa Rd, RD 1, Little River 7591 Hours: Monday to Friday 8.30am - 12.30pm & 1.30pm - 4.30pm











