## Your Council



**Bob Parker** Mayor

Norm Withers MNZM Deputy Mayor

**Gail Sheriff** 

Yani Johanson

Chrissie Williams David Cox B.Tech (Maths) Hons, Dip Tchg

FNZIM

Sue Wells

Barry Corbett Ngaire Button

Mike Wall

Sally Buck MEd (Dist), Dip Tchg

Helen Broughton Claudia Reid MA(Hons) DipEd (GC), Dip Tchg

**Bob Shearing** 

#### **How the Council works**

#### The Council organisation

#### **Elected members**

Christchurch residents and ratepayers are represented by the 14-member Christchurch City Council and eight community boards. Elections are held every three years to select councillors and community board members.

#### Council

The Mayor and 13 Councillors run the city and ensure that the needs of its residents are met. They plan the way forward and are accountable for delivering what the community has identified as necessary for its cultural, economic, environmental and social well-being.

#### **Community boards**

At a local level, the eight community boards represent and act as advocates for the interests of their communities. Community board members advise the Council on local needs, community views, and how Council proposals will affect their communities. The community boards are:

- Burwood/Pegasus
- · Fendalton/Waimairi
- · Hagley/Ferrymead
- · Riccarton/Wigram
- · Shirley/Papanui
- Spreydon/Heathcote
- · Akaroa/Wairewa
- Lyttelton/Mt Herbert

The Council is responsible for employing the chief executive – the only member of staff who reports directly to elected members. The chief executive employs all other staff at the Council.

#### **Council structure**

Council activities and services are assigned to one of eight business groups, each headed by a general manager. These groups are:

- · capital programme
- · city environment
- community services
- corporate services
- · human resources
- · public affairs
- · regulatory and democracy services
- · strategy and planning

Within these groups, various units provide specific services to the community and to the Council itself. The services and activities provided by the Council are wide and varied, from rubbish collection, roads and water, to the Botanic Gardens, the Christchurch Art Gallery, city libraries, and festivals and events.

# Community board members



#### Fendalton/Waimairi Community Board

- 1 Jamie Gough
- 2 Faimeh, Lady Burke MA
- 3 Councillor Mike Wall
- 4 Andrew Yoon JP
- 5 Cheryl Colley JP, MA (Hons) BBS Dip Tchg
- 6 Val Carter (Chairperson)
- 7 Councillor Sally Buck, Dip Tchg M.Ed

#### Council Service Centre - Fendalton

Cnr Jeffreys & Clyde Roads PO Box 29-183

Hours: Monday to Friday 9 - 5pm

## **Riccarton/Wigram Community Board**

- 8 Councillor Bob Shearing
- 9 Councillor Helen Broughton, MA Hons Dip Ed (GC) Dip Tchg
- 10 Mike Mora
- 11 Jimmy Chen, MComm, BSC
- 12 Beth Dunn, BEd
- 13 Peter Laloli (Chairperson)
- 14 Dr Judy Kirk

#### Council Service Centre - Sockburn

149 Main South Road

PO Box 11-011

Hours: Monday to Friday 8am – 5pm

#### Council Service Centre - Riccarton

NZ Post Shop, 103 Riccarton Road Hours: Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm

#### Spreydon/Heathcote Community Board

- 15 Oscar Alpers, LLB Notary Public
- 16 Councillor Barry Corbett
- 17 Councillor Sue Wells, BA
- 18 Tim Scandrett
- 19 Phil Clearwater (Chairperson), MA Hons
- 20 Karolin Potter
- 21 Chris Mene

#### Council Service Centre - Beckenham

66 Colombo Street

PO Box 12-033

Hours: Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm

#### Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board

- 22 Jeremy Agar, MA
- 23 Ann Jolliffe
- 24 Douglas Couch, JP
- 25 Councillor Claudia Reid
- 26 Paula Smith (Chairperson), Dip. Hort, BSC (Hons), Dip L.A
- 27 Dawn Te-Riaki Kottier QSM

#### **Council Service Centre - Lyttelton**

33 London Street PO Box 4, Lyttelton

Hours: Monday to Friday, 8.00am - 5pm

#### Shirley/Papanui Community Board

- 28 Councillor Ngaire Button
- 29 Aaron Keown
- 30 Matt Morris, PhD
- 31 Yvonne Palmer QSM JP
- 32 Deputy Mayor Norm Withers, MNZM
- 33 Pauline Cotter (Deputy Chairperson),

NZED Trained Teacher's Certificate

#### Council Service Centre - Papanui

Cnr Langdons Rd & Restell St

PO Box 5142

Hours: Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm; Saturday 10am - 1pm

## **Burwood/Pegasus Community Board**

- 34 Tina Lomax, Dip Tchg, B.Ed, PG Ch (Dist)
- 35 Nigel Dixon
- 36 Tim Sintes
- 37 Councillor Chrissie Williams, B.Tech (Maths) Hons. Dip Tchg
- 38 Linda Stewart, Dip Bus
- 39 David East (Chairperson), BSC
- 40 Councillor Gail Sheriff IP

#### Council Service Centre - Shirley

36 Marshlands Road (The Palms)

PO Box 27-043

Hours: Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm; Saturday 10am – 1pm

## **Hagley/Ferrymead Community Board**

- 41 Councillor Yani Johanson
- 42 Councillor David Cox, FNZIM
- 43 Tim Carter, B.E. (Hons) M.E.M
- 44 John Freeman, JP, MA
- 45 Rod Cameron
- 46 Bob Todd OBE IP (Chairperson)
- 47 Brenda Lowe-Johnson, JP

#### Council Service Centre - Civic

163-173 Tuam Street, PO Box 237

Hours: Monday to Friday 8.30am - 5pm

#### Council Service Centre - Linwood

180 Smith Street, PO Box 24-214

Hours: Monday to Friday 8.30am – 5pm

#### Akaroa/Wairewa Community Board

- 48 Jane Chetwynd, PhD
- 49 Stewart Miller (Chairperson)
- 50 Bryan Morgan
- 51 Pam Richardson IP
- 52 Eric Ryder
- 53 Councillor Claudia Reid

#### Council Service Centre - Akaroa

78 Rue Lavaud

Hours: Monday to Friday, 8.30am - 5pm

#### Council Service Centre – Little River

State Highway 75

Hours: Monday to Friday 8.30 – 12.30 and 1.30 – 4.30pm